How To Handle What I Know About People…

Now when He was in Jerusalem at the Passover, during the feast, many believed in His name when they saw the signs which He did. But Jesus did not commit Himself to them, because He knew all men, and had no need that anyone should testify of man, for He knew what was in man.

(Joh 2:23-25 NKJV) 

“…He knew what was in man.”

It is here that I generally want to pack it up and go home.

I see glimpses of another’s heart and know that he or she is not for me, but rather is using me for selfish reasons. In those moments, I want to simply show them that I know their motives and that I won’t be used or manipulated.

Really, my pride is wounded and I want to shame them with some of the embarrassment I feel. I am hurt that they have such low regard for me and really do not care for me. I am offended that they think I am so gullible that I fell for their appearance of love, friendship or admiration. I guess the biggest offence to me is that generally, I actually do believe that others are for me, and it is so disappointing when I find out they are not. Perhaps, it is here that I begin to be angry with myself.

Resentment is a big hurdle. When I discover others are being hypocritical in their relationships with me, I face the temptation to resent them. If this goes unchecked I begin to really feel animosity and desire their humiliation if not destruction. This is especially true if I have made any sort of expenditure or sacrifice to build their lives.

How could Jesus continue His walk of Love toward the Cross when He knew the hearts in front of Him? In my humanity, I would have wanted to start slashing the gift list. “You’re not getting anything good from me! You don’t deserve it!”

But Jesus was walking with a different motivation, “Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?” His business was to do the will of the Father. The Contemporary English Version says it like this, “But Jesus knew what was in their hearts, and he would not let them have power over him.”

I wish I was better able to do it this way. “He would not let them have power over Him.” He wouldn’t be swayed by their acclamation and follow it. He wouldn’t be embittered by their hypocrisy and hate them. He wouldn’t be baited by their cynicism and become sarcastic.

He knew their hearts, but more importantly He knew His “Father’s Business” with their hearts.

O, to be like Jesus, to know what is in the hearts of men and not allow my ego or feelings to take over. He knew what was in their hearts, yet He continued His gentle march to the cross, loving those hearts though they were fickle and unable to be trusted. He loved them because He was here on His “Father’s Business.”

It was the eternal perspective and will of His Father, which kept Jesus on Mission.

It is only by the grace of God that I will be able to do the same. I know that nothing in my humanity is able to see life and people from an eternal perspective. It is only as the God works in me, “both to will and to do for His good pleasure (Phil. 2:13), that I can see beyond myself.

I guess how I handle what I know about people will be determined by whose business I am pursuing. “Jesus, I ask that you grant me both the desire and the power do your business today. Help me to see the hearts before me, as you see them. Help me to walk the gentle walk of love you followed to fulfill your Father’s Business of reconciling the world to Himself.”

Leave a Reply

