Waiting…

Jesus said to her, “Woman, what does your concern have to do with Me? My hour has not yet come.”

(Joh 2:4 NKJV)

 

“Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?”

 

A test which confronts me often is a sense of urgency born of selfishness and guilt in Christian Ministry. I see a need and something within me says I need to meet it. I feel the weight of expectation and don’t want to disappoint. I feel the need of affirmation and see an opportunity for another “notch on my belt.” I think of what it will look like if I don’t meet the need and I grudgingly do it to keep up my reputation.

Jesus is beginning to attract followers, but has really done very few, if any miraculous works. His heart is full of love and compassion and He possesses the power to set all things right, but He waits.

He waits!!

I have a lot to learn about this waiting thing. Jesus shows up with the power to do miraculous deeds, He could whip this wedding into shape in a jiffy, but He waits. His response to the need, and the expectation that He meet the need is, “My hour has not yet come.”

Is He saying this isn’t the right venue? Does this need seem too trivial for His great power? Is He irritated at a domineering, meddling parent? Is He telling His mother, “Back off, I will do things my way”?

I don’t believe it is any of these things. I believe it comes back to His mission, “Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?” At issue was not whether the need was real, relevant or important. The focus was “My Father’s business.”

It is here that I often run ahead of God. The need is presented with expectation and I have the means to fulfill it, so fulfill it I must. But do I have the patience to wait? O, impatient man that I am!

It appears that His hour was not long in coming because Jesus works a miracle and meets the need in a far more creative and quiet way than I could have planned or executed. I believe Jesus met the need with great sensitivity and creativity because He waited on the Word from His Father.

The “Father’s Business” is to reconcile this world to Himself. He knows the best plan and the best way.

O my Father, grant me the grace to wait. When I see a need, grant me the grace to wait for you to move through me. Forgive me for the many times I have tried to impress you with my grasp of the need and my efforts to meet it. Teach me to wait for your time and plan. Help me to be about “Your business” today.

Leave a Reply

